Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MPhA
Membership: MPhA Committees
Share |

MPhA Committees, Networks, & Task Forces

Get Involved Today!


Below is a list of all the MPhA Committees, Networks, and Task Forces. These are designed for members to get to know the Association and meet new colleagues, while collectively advancing pharmacy practice in Maryland. If you are interested in joining one of the Committees or have any questions, please e-mail the Committee Chair or Co-chair.

  • Advocacy Committee: serves as an advisory body to Board of Trustees on legislative and regulatory and/other matters that may impact the practice of pharmacy in Maryland. The Committee is responsible for reviewing legislative and regulatory proposals; recommending legislative and regulatory priorities to the Board of Trustees; advising on the implementation of any MPhA policies that require legislative action; and representing MPhA on the Maryland Pharmacy Coalition Legislative Committee. The Committee may also work with the Executive Director on specific bills in the Maryland General Assembly.

  • Budget and Finance Committee: prepares the proposed annual budget for the Association and presents to the Board of Trustees for approval at least two months prior to the beginning of the fiscal year. The Committee also monitors Association investments to ensure compliance with the Investment Policy Statement.

  • Building Committee: oversees the financial condition of EFK Properties, LLC and the management of property(ies) owned by EFK Properties, LLC. The Committee reports at least quarterly to the MPhA Board of Trustees. The Treasurer serves as the chair of the Building Committee which consists of the following persons: Chair of the Board of Trustees, Vice President, Treasurer and two at-large members appointed by the MPhA President.

  • Communication Committee: assists staff by promoting and featuring the Association’s activities and members. The Committee serves in an advisory capacity to identify relevant content for MPhA’s digital, social and print media. The Committee works with staff in identifying subject matter experts; engaging members via social media; and collaborating with other committees to supplement marketing of MPhA meetings and events.

  • Constitution and Bylaws Committee: responsible for reviewing the current by-laws and soliciting membership for proposed changes. These recommendations are then submitted to the Board of Trustees for a board opinion and then presented to the House of Delegates for a vote as indicated in the By-Laws.


  • Meetings Planning Committee: serves as an advisory body to MPhA staff on the theme, program content and schedule for MPhA conferences. The committee works with other MPhA committees to enhance marketing and engagement opportunities for MPhA meetings. The Committee also assists staff when needed and acts as a hospitality committee at meeting sites.

Chair: Deanna Tran
  • Membership Committee: comprised of pharmacy professionals, from varied practice areas, who volunteer to personally engage current and potential members of MPhA. The Committee serves as a resource and sounding board to MPhA staff on the development of membership recruitment, retention and reclamation strategies and campaigns. The Committee works to increase the value proposition of MPhA membership.

Chair: Marci Strauss
Executive Board Advisor: Kerry Cormier
  • Nominating Committee: responsible for the presentation of a slate of at least two (2) individuals for each forthcoming available seat on the Board of Trustees and the office of Vice President, and Treasurer (on alternate years) to the House of Delegates at the Mid-Year Meeting. The Nominating Committee shall consider geographic diversity, practice specialty, experience, and the requirements included in the Association’s bylaws in making its nominations. The slate of candidates is presented to the House of Delegates at the Mid-Year meeting. Nominating Committee is chaired by the Vice President of MPhA.

Chair:  Chris Charles
  • Preservation/History Committee: responsible for advising MPhA staff on the upkeep, display, and cataloging of the association’s historical pieces. The Committee is also responsible for providing content to showcase Maryland pharmacy history via MPhA’s quarterly journal and website.

  • Professional Development Committee: responsible for furthering the professional development, including continuing education, of MPhA members and furthering the mission of MPhA in identifying and developing professional projects to expand awareness and educate the public about the value and role of pharmacist services in the healthcare community.

Co-Chair: Open
Committee Charges

  • Resolutions Committee: required to review all submitted resolutions prior to the Annual Meeting and present a report to the Board of Trustees for purposes of determining the Board’s position prior to the second House of Delegates meeting for vote. The Committee may also work with members to help formulate resolutions.The Resolutions Committee is chaired by the Vice Speaker of the MPhA House of Delegates.

  • Scholarship Committee: reviews applications and annually awards three scholarships to students attending a school of pharmacy in Maryland and works in collaboration with the MPhA Foundation.



The networks are designed to provide a venue for ongoing collaboration, networking, and socializing.

  • Federal Pharmacists/New Practitioner Network: to further develop our Federal pharmacist membership and identify membership services and activities geared toward this cohort. NPN assists young professional members by developing resources, learning and volunteering opportunities relevant to the young pharmacists today, while building a community for the next generation of pharmacists. For more information, visit the New Practitioner Network webpage.

                         Federal Pharmacists Chair: Daniel Lee
                         Federal Pharmacists Co-Chair: Sylvia Park
                         New Practitioner Network Chair: Tosin David
                         Past President Liaison: Dixie Leikach 
                         Committee Charges

  • Past Presidents Network: is comprised of Past Presidents Council (PPC). The group is chaired by the immediate past president of MPhA. As PPC the group administers MPhA’s award process and is responsible for the promotion of MPhA awards and selection of recipients. The group may also recommend nominees for national pharmacy-related awards. The network will provide an opportunity for Past Presidents to engage beyond the awards process.

Chair: Chai Wang


  • Technician Network: is to be organized to further develop our technician membership and the purpose and activity will be determined by those who volunteer to be the founding members.

Co-Chairs: Ashlee Mattingly
Committee Charges



MPhA Task Forces are designed to support a short-term targeted focus on a specific outcome or initiative. It is a great way to work with colleagues and support MPhA with shorter investment of time.

  • CBD and Cannabis Task Force

                        Co-Chairs: Brian Sanderoff
                        Committee Charges

  • Community and Family Engagement Task Force

Co-Chairs: Mallory Cortis and Amy Nathanson
Executive Committee Liaison: Kerry Cormier
Committee Charges


Community Search
Sign In