Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MPhA
Membership: Annual Awards
Share |


Each year, MPhA recognizes individual professional excellence during the MPhA Annual Convention. Nominations are reviewed and selections are made by the Past Presidents Council. Upon selection, individuals will be notified in advance of the Annual Convention. Nominations for the 2020 Annual Awards are now open. Click here to submit your submission.

Bowl of Hygeia Award - Past Honorees

sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association Foundation and National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations

Established in 1958, the Bowl of Hygeia Award recognizes pharmacists who possess outstanding records of civic leadership in their communities and encourages pharmacists to take active roles in their communities. In addition to service through their local, state, and national pharmacy associations, award recipients devote their time, talent, and resources to a wide variety of causes and community service. Any MPhA pharmacist member who has not already received the Bowl of Hygeia Award is eligible for nomination.

The Bowl of Hygeia is the most widely recognized international symbol for the pharmacy profession and is considered one of the profession's most prestigious awards. The Bowl of Hygeia has been associated with the pharmacy profession since 1796, when the symbol was used on a coin minted for the Parisian Society of Pharmacy. The bowl represents a medicinal potion and the snake represents healing.


Maryland Pharmacists Association Seidman Distinguished Achievement Award - Past Honorees

This award was established by the Maryland Pharmacists Association to recognize an individual who has made major contributions to the Maryland Pharmacists Association, organized pharmacy, and the profession of pharmacy. Any MPhA pharmacist member who meet the criteria for this award is eligible for nomination.


Excellence in Innovation Award - Past Honorees

sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc. and the MPhA Foundation

Established in 1993, this award (formerly known as the Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award) aims to recognize forward-thinking pharmacists who have expanded their practices into new areas. Any practicing MPhA pharmacist member within the geographic area who has demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care is eligible for nomination.


Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award - Past Honorees

sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Companies

This award is presented each year to a pharmacist who has graduated within the past ten years and has made a significant contribution to the profession through service to a local, state, or national pharmacy organization. Any MPhA pharmacist member who has graduated from a school of pharmacy within the last ten years is eligible for nomination.


Maryland Pharmacists Association Mentor Award - Past Honorees

This award, established in 2004, recognizes individuals who encourage pharmacists, technicians, and/or student pharmacists in the pursuit of excellence in education, pharmacy practice, service, and/or advocacy. Any MPhA pharmacist member who meets the criteria for the award is eligible for nomination.


Maryland Pharmacists Association Honorary President - Past Honorees

An honorary position on the Board of Trustees is given to a person, not necessarily a pharmacist, who has worked for MPhA or Maryland Pharmacy over a long period of time. Any long standing contributor to the profession or the Association is eligible for nomination.


Pharmacist Advocate Award - Past Honorees
sponsored by Buy-Sell-a-Pharmacy

This new award is intended to cover the breadth of work of a pharmacist's advocacy efforts and is not limited to the annual legislative process. The nominee must be a pharmacist who is a member of MPhA. The government affairs activity in which the nominee participated must have raised pharmacists' awareness of the political process, improved the pharmacy profession and the political process, and/or improved service and education to the patient. MPhA staff members, lobbyists, and state or federal officials are not eligible.

Community Search
Sign In