Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join MPhA
Membership: Annual Awards Winners
Share |


Maryland Pharmacist Association celebrated and honored our friends and colleagues for their time, commitment and service to the Maryland pharmacy community at the 136th Annual Convention at The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel on July 1, 2018. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Dixie Leikach, RPh, MBA, FACA - Reisterstown, MD

Awarded to a pharmacist who possesses an outstanding record of civic leadership. In addition to service through their local, state and national pharmacy associations, award recipients devote their time, talent and resources to a wide variety of causes and community service.

The Bowl of Hygeia is the most widely recognized international symbol for the pharmacy profession and is considered one of the profession's most prestigious awards. 

MPhA Seidman Distinguished Achievement Award

Joseph A. DeMino, PD, Gaithersburg, MD

Awarded to an individual who has made major contributions to the Maryland Pharmacists Association, organized pharmacy, and the profession of pharmacy.

Excellence in Innovation Award

Jill A. Morgan, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS, Eldersburg, MD

Awarded to a forward-thinking pharmacist in Maryland who has expanded their practice into new areas and demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care. 

MPhA Mentor Award

Deanna Tran, PharmD, BCACP, Hanover, MD

Awarded to an individual who encourages pharmacists, technicians, and/or students in the pursuit of excellence in education, pharmacy practice, service and/or advocacy.

MPhA Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award

Richard A. DeBenedetto, PharmD, MS, AAHIVP, Salisbury, MD

Awarded to a pharmacist who has graduated within the past ten years and has made a significant contributions to the profession through service in a local, state, or national pharmacy organization.

Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award

Mary Lynn McPherson, PharmD, MA, MDE, BCPS, CPE, Stevensville, MD

Awarded to a pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to raising awareness of the dangers of prescription drug abuse among the general public and among the pharmacy community. 

Pharmacist Advocate Award

Surinder K. Singal, RPh, Dunkirk, MD

Awarded to an individual for their advocacy and education efforts with both legislators and pharmacists.

Honorary President

Betty Sanford, Catonsville, MD

An honorary position on the Board of Trustees awarded to a person who has worked for MPhA or Maryland pharmacy over a long period of time.

Student Scholarship Winners

Three scholarships in the amount of $1,500 were awarded; two are sponsored by MPhA and one by the MPhA Foundation for students pursuing careers in the field of Pharmacy. Congratulations to the 2018 scholarship recipients.

Tolani Adebanjo - University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Mark Bickley - University of Maryland
Emily Biskach - University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Outstanding Student Pharmacist Achievement Award

Each year, the Maryland Pharmacists Association (MPhA) awards an Outstanding Student Pharmacist Achievement Award to recognize a graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills within the pharmacy community. Congratulations to this year's recipients.

Tolani Adebanjo - University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Meryam Gharbi -
University of Maryland
Miaka Huynh -
Notre Dame of Maryland University

Community Search
Sign In